DUI, or driving under the influence, is one of the most common criminal offenses. Does this mean that it is usually a misdemeanor offense? Our criminal defense team at Miles Hansford, LLC explains how DUI charges are classified and what drivers need to know.
Misdemeanor DUI in Georgia
A standard DUI is usually a misdemeanor offense. A standard DUI occurs when:
- A driver is at or above the legal BAC limit of 0.08%.
- A driver is impaired to any degree that affects their ability to drive safely.
- A driver is impaired but does not cause an accident
Misdemeanor DUI is punishable by:
- A fine of up to $1,000
- Up to 10 days in jail
- A year of probation
- License suspension
Felony DUI in Georgia
While the majority of DUI arrests result in misdemeanor charges, there are certain factors that can escalate a DUI to the felony level. This may be the case if:
- The driver was significantly above the legal BAC limit
- The impaired driver caused an accident that caused injury or death
- The DUI is a fourth offense
- The driver had a suspended license at the time of the DUI arrest
Do I Need an Attorney for Misdemeanor DUI?
Whether you are facing misdemeanor or felony DUI charges, you need a DUI defense attorney to help you through your case and ultimately reach the best possible outcome. Attempting to work on your case alone and without legal guidance can be the difference between a conviction or a not guilty verdict.
If you have recently been arrested for DUI in the Cumming area, reach out to our defense team at Miles Hansford, LLC as soon as possible. The sooner you get started on your defense, the better the possible outcome. Learn more about how our attorneys can help you during an initial case consultation. Click here or call to request an appointment today.